Living in a pandemic and uncertainty, many began to think about moving to another country, transferring their business to more profitable jurisdictions, and competently planning their finances. There are several fairly obvious reasons for this – the massive transition to remote work, the unstable situation in most areas of business, the lack of the possibility of long-term travel due to closed borders. 

This is what drives entrepreneurs who are thinking about the possibility of changing citizenship in order to reduce taxes. But obtaining citizenship is not a tax optimization tool. This is a long and complicated process, and in a crisis, it is necessary to resolve issues as quickly as possible. Therefore, it is better to consider the possibilities and benefits of changing tax residency. Much low tax and offshore jurisdictions offer affordable options to help with proper tax and financial planning. 

Georgia is just such a place where, in addition to a comfortable climate, there are extremely attractive tax conditions and the best environment for business development. In this article, we will analyze the issues of obtaining tax residency in Georgia and its benefits in 2021.

How to obtain tax residency in Georgia?

On a general basis, you become a tax resident of Georgia after you have lived in the country for more than 183 days continuously for one year.

It is important to understand that this rule only works if you really lived in the territory, and were not located for the reason:

  • A diplomatic mission with consul status or were a family member of such person;
  • Worked for an international organization or were a family member of such person;
  • Work on the territory of Georgia in the status of a civil servant of another state or were a family member of such a person;
  • Transit movement through the territory of the country to other states.
  • Vacation or treatment.

Among other things, obtaining tax residency in Georgia in this way is a rather long process and it is not suitable for promptly solving business problems related to tax optimization. In this regard, you can consider other methods of obtaining. If you are a person who owns the significant property and can confirm this with documents, then the period is reduced to one month. To do this, you need to provide confirmation:

  • On the condition of your assets, which must exceed 3 million GEL ($ 909,090);
  • Your income for the last 3 years, which must exceed 200 thousand GEL (about $ 65,040);
  • If you have a temporary residence permit in Georgia;
  • Your income from a Georgian source is more than 25 thousand GEL ($ 8 130);

The Georgian law regarding companies registered in the country or managed from it states that such companies are automatically considered tax residents. Therefore, you can consider options for registering your business on preferential terms, which we talked about in more detail here in this article.

Documents required for obtaining tax residency in Georgia

To obtain tax residency in Georgia, you need to submit an application and the following documents to the Service Agency of the Ministry of Finance:

  • Passport and residence permit;
  • Documents confirming your capital that meets the above requirements;
  • The statement itself.

All documents submitted by you are checked by the Revenue Service. If no errors and inaccuracies were found, then within 7 working days your application is sent to the Ministry of Finance. If errors are found, you are given 30 calendar days to correct them.

A nine-digit taxpayer identification number is provided for foreigners and stateless persons. Further tax accounting is carried out at the place of residence indicated in the application.

Main advantages of Georgia tax residency

  • According to Article 82 of the Tax Code of Georgia, income that is received from sources outside the territory of the country is not taxed. That is why foreign entrepreneurs are interested in Georgia’s tax residency.
  • A Georgian tax resident who does not have a residence permit pays only income tax of 20% and only on income received from a source in Georgia. There are no pension or any other social contributions.
  • If you have a residence permit, permanent residence or Georgian citizenship, you are required to pay an additional 2% of the specified income to the pension fund. Such income includes a salary, a bonus from a Georgian source, and, for example, when leasing Georgian real estate, a tax resident of Georgia does not pay a pension contribution. By the way, when concluding such a contract with a lessor company, it is the company that is obliged to pay income tax for you.
  • Thanks to the double taxation agreement, you can be exempted from paying taxes on income received from a source in Georgia, in the country of which you are a citizen. At the moment, Georgia has signed agreements with 56 countries, including Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the United Arab Emirates and Cyprus.

If you are considering options for obtaining tax residency in Georgia in order to optimize taxes or options for registering your business in the country, it is better to consult in advance with Jara Accounting tax specialists who will help you develop a tax plan for years to come and explain all the advantages and disadvantages. Having received advice, you will be sure of the correctness of your actions and can legally save on taxes.

Проживая в условиях пандемии и неопределенности многие стали задумываться  о переезде в другую страну, переносе своего бизнеса в более выгодные юрисдикции и грамотном планировании своих финансов. Этому есть несколько достаточно очевидных причин — массовый переход на удаленную работу, нестабильная ситуация в большинстве сфер бизнеса, отсутствие возможности долгосрочных путешествий из-за закрытых границ. 

Это и движет предпринимателями, которые задумываются над возможностью сменить гражданство с целью сократить налоги. Но получение гражданства не является инструментом для налоговой оптимизации. Это долгий и сложный процесс, а в условиях кризиса надо решать вопросы как можно быстрее. Поэтому лучше рассмотреть возможности и преимущества смены налогового резидентства. Многие низконалоговые и оффшорные юрисдикции предлагают доступные опции, что помогает при правильном налоговом и финансовом планировании. 

Грузия как раз является таким местом, где помимо комфортного климата крайне привлекательные налоговые условия и лучшая среда для развития бизнеса. В этой статье мы разберем вопросы получения налогового резидентства Грузии и его преимущества в 2021.

Как получить налоговое резидентство Грузии?

На общих основаниях вы становитесь налоговым резидентом Грузии после того как прожили на территории страны более 183 дней непрерывно в течение одного года.

Важно понимать, что это правило работает только если вы действительно проживали на территории, а не находились по причине:

  • Дипломатической миссии в статусе консула или были членом семьи такого лица;
  • Работы в международной организации или были членом семьи такого лица;
  • Работы на территории Грузии в статусе государственного служащего другого государства или были членом семьи такого лица;
  • Транзитного перемещения через территорию страны в другие государства.
  • Отдыха или лечения.

Кроме всего прочего получение налогового резидентства в Грузии таким способом достаточно долгий процесс и он не подходит для оперативного решения задач бизнеса по оптимизации налогов. В связи с этим можно рассмотреть другие способы получения. Если вы являетесь лицом, которое обладает значительным имуществом и можете это подтвердить документами, то срок сокращается до одного месяца. Для этого вам надо предоставить подтверждение:

  • О состояние ваших активов, которые должны превышать 3 миллиона лари (909 090$);
  • Вашего дохода за последние 3 года, который должен превышать 200 тысяч лари (около 65 040$);
  • О наличии у вас временного вида на жительства в Грузии;
  • Вашего дохода от грузинского источника более 25 тысяч лари (8 130$);

Закон Грузии в отношении компаний, которые зарегистрированы в стране или управляются из нее гласит, что подобные предприятия автоматически считаются налоговыми резидентами. Поэтому вы можете рассмотреть варианты регистрации своего бизнеса на льготных условиях, о чем мы подробнее рассказывали вот в этой статье.

Документы необходимые для получения налогового резидентства Грузии

Чтобы получить налоговое резидентство Грузии вам нужно подать заявление и следующие документы в Сервисное агентство Министерство финансов:

  • Загранпаспорт и ВНЖ;
  • Документы подтверждающие ваш капитал, который соответствует вышеописанным требованиям;
  • Само заявление.

Всю поданную вами документацию проверяет Служба доходов. Если ошибок и неточностей найдено не было, то за 7 рабочих дней ваше заявление передается в Министерство финансов. В случае обнаружения ошибок вам дается 30 календарных дней на их исправление.

Для иностранцев и лиц без гражданства предусмотрен девятизначный идентификационный номер налогоплательщика. Дальнейший учет налогов осуществляется по указанному в заявлении месту жительства.

Основные преимущества налогового резидентства Грузии

  • Согласно 82 статье Налогового кодекса Грузии – доход, который получается от источников не на территории страны, налогом не облагается. Именно поэтому иностранные предприниматели заинтересованы в налоговом резидентстве Грузии.
  • Налоговый резидент Грузии, не имеющий вида на жительство, уплачивает только подоходный налог в размере 20% и только с доходов, полученных от источника в Грузии. Пенсионные или какие-либо другие социальные взносы отсутствуют.
  • Если у вас есть ВНЖ, ПМЖ или гражданство Грузии вы обязаны дополнительно уплачивать всего 2% с указанного дохода в пенсионный фонд. Под такой доход подпадает зарплата, премия от грузинского источника, а, например, при сдаче грузинской недвижимости в аренду, налоговый резидент Грузии пенсионный взнос не платит. Кстати, при заключении такого контракта с арендодателем компанией, именно компания обязана уплачивать за вас подоходный налог.
  • Благодаря соглашению об избежании двойного налогообложения вы можете быть освобождены от уплаты налогов на доходы, полученные от источника в Грузии, в стране гражданином которой вы являетесь. На данный момент у Грузии заключены договора с 56 странами среди которых Украина, Беларусь, Казахстан, ОАЭ и Кипр.

Если вы рассматриваете варианты получения налогового резидентства в Грузии с целью оптимизации налогов или варианты регистрации своего бизнеса на территории страны, то лучше заранее проконсультироваться с налоговыми специалистами Jara Accounting, которые помогут вам разработать налоговый план на годы вперед и объяснить все преимущества и недостатки. Получив консультацию вы будете уверены в правильности ваших действий и сможете легально сэкономить на налогах.