Until 2023, Georgia has not yet signed an agreement on the continuous and automatic exchange of data on clients of tax authorities from other jurisdictions under the CRS protocol. Therefore, many entrepreneurs are considering this country for opening a corporate account and doing business. In addition, in Georgia, in addition to the high level of confidentiality of banking operations, there are legal ways to reduce the tax burden. This interest could not have been overlooked by banking structures and the conditions for opening accounts for non-residents have become more stringent. In this article, we will analyze in detail the question of how to prove Substance in Georgia in order to work with Georgian banks.

What does the economic presence in Georgia mean?

Substance means that your company really does business in Georgia. Confirmation of this fact is necessary for banks and tax authorities in order to exclude the possibility of money laundering or tax evasion in the country.

In connection with the Anti-Money Laundering law, which Georgian banks rely on when deciding to close an account, Georgian companies with a non-resident beneficiary undergo a thorough check of the entire document flow and require substance on the territory of the country.
These regulations were designed to prevent money laundering, financing, and the spread of terrorism.

Your economic activity and presence in the country must be officially proven – only in this case you can count on opening a corporate account in Georgia and not be afraid that it will be closed during the next check.

How to prove substance in Georgia?

Just a rented office or a place in a coworking space will not be a sufficient justification for proving an economic presence in Georgia. Based on the experience of our clients, we have compiled a list of measures that need to be taken (most often it is better to combine several of them):

In a bank check, your company number that starts with +995 will serve as sufficient justification. This service costs from 7 € per month.

We wrote in more detail about all the pros and cons of this method in this article.

If you conclude a contract with an accounting company in Georgia and it will deal with the maintenance and filing of reports, then the Georgian bank will have sufficient grounds for your substance, because it will see all the turnovers through the tax office.

You can learn more about the peculiarities of accounting in Georgia and the cost of accounting by clicking on the link.

The presence of employees on the territory of the country is considered by banks as the actual presence of the company. In addition, you can open a salary project in this bank, thereby dispelling all doubts.

It will be enough to create a landing page, the main thing is that the domain is Georgian. Translation services are relatively inexpensive, and the domain is even cheaper.

Renting an office will cost a little more than making a website, for example, but if you make cashless payments through the company’s account, then this will be a sufficient basis for the bank’s compliance. Constant rental payments will help determine the real economic presence in Georgia. This also includes the option of renting a space in the coworking space.

If you have an already formed business model, then this method will be quite difficult to implement. But if you have implemented 3 or more of the points that we described above, then Georgian banks may not pay attention to the lack of local counterparties.

Organizing a real economic presence of a company in the Georgian jurisdiction is especially important not only for opening an account, but also for a business that claims preferential taxation regimes. To understand which method suits you best and find Georgian counterparties without problems, organize accounting or rent an office on favorable terms, how to prove Substance in Georgia to work with Georgian banks – leave a request on our website, we will consult for free and find a unique solution to your problem.

    Convenient messenger

До 2023 года Грузия еще не подписала соглашения о постоянном и автоматическом обмене данными по клиентам налоговых ведомствам из других юрисдикций в рамках протокола CRS. Поэтому многие предприниматели рассматривают эту страну для открытия корпоративного счета и ведения бизнеса. К тому же в Грузии, помимо высокого уровня конфиденциальности банковских операций, имеются легальные способы снизить налоговую нагрузку. Данный интерес ни мог быть не замечен банковскими структурами и условия открытия счетов для нерезидентов ужесточились. В этой статье мы подробно разберем вопрос как доказать Substance в Грузии, чтобы работать с грузинскими банками.

Что значит экономическое присутствие в Грузии?

Substance или же если перевести с английского – экономическое присутствие обозначает, что ваша компания действительно ведет реальную деятельность на территории Грузии. Подтверждение этого факта необходимо банкам и налоговым органам, чтобы исключить вероятность отмывания денег или ухода от налоговой ответственности на территории страны.

В связи с законом Anti-Money Laundering, на который полагаются грузинские банки при решении о закрытии счета, грузинские компании с бенефициаром нерезидентом проходят тщательную проверку всего документооборота и требуют substance на территории страны.
Эти нормы были разработаны для предотвращения легализации средств, полученных преступным путем, финансирования и распространения терроризма.

Ваша экономическая деятельность и присутствие в стране должны быть официально доказаны – только в этом случае вы можете рассчитывать на открытие корпоративного счета в Грузии и не бояться, что его закроют во время следующей проверки.

Как доказать substance в Грузии?

Просто арендованный офис или место в коворкинге не будут являться достаточным обоснованием для доказательства экономического присутствия в Грузии. На опыте наших клиентов мы составили список мер, которые необходимо предпринять (чаще всего лучше комбинировать несколько из них):

При банковской проверке номер вашей компании, который начинается с +995 послужит достаточным обоснованием. Эта услуга стоит от 7 € в месяц.

Подробнее обо всех плюсах и минусах этого способа мы писали вот в этой статье.

Если вы заключите контракт с бухгалтерской компанией в Грузии и она будет заниматься ведением и подачей отчетности, то грузинский банк будет иметь достаточно оснований вашего substance, потому что будет видеть все обороты через налоговый кабинет. 

Подробнее об особенностях бухгалтерского учета в Грузии и стоимости ведения бухгалтерии вы можете узнать перейдя по ссылке.

Наличие работников на территории страны рассматривается банками как фактическое присутствие компании. К тому же вы сможете открыть зарплатный проект в этом банке, тем самым развеяв все сомнения. 

Можете ограничиться созданием лендинга, главное чтобы домен был грузинский.  Услуги переводчика стоят относительно недорого, а домен еще дешевле. 

Снять офис обойдется чуть дороже, чем например сделать сайт, но если вы будете производить безналичный расчет через счет компании, то это будет достаточным основанием для комплаенс банка. Постоянные платежи за аренду помогут определить действительное экономическое присутствие в Грузии. Сюда же относится и вариант с арендой места в коворкинге. 

Если у вас уже сформированная бизнес модель, то этот способ будет достаточно сложно реализовать. Но если вы реализовали 3 и более из пунктов, которые мы описали выше, то грузинские банки могут не обратить внимание на отсутствие у вас местных контрагентов. 

Организовать реальное экономическое присутствие компании в грузинской юрисдикции, особенно важно не только для открытия счета, но и для бизнеса, который претендует на льготные режимы налогообложения. Чтобы понять, какой из способов вам лучше подойдет и без проблем найти грузинских контрагентов, организовать бухгалтерский учет или арендовать офис на выгодных условиях, как доказать Substance в Грузии чтобы работать с грузинскими банками – оставьте заявку у нас на сайте, мы бесплатно проконсультируем и найдем уникальное решение вашей проблемы.

    Удобный мессенджер