Nobody wants to pay high taxes, much less twice. If you are a non-resident of the country and receive income in Georgia, it may happen that you will need to pay taxes here and in the country of residence. To prevent this from happening, there is an agreement between the countries aimed at avoiding double taxation. Georgia has signed relevant international treaties with more than 50 states. Read this article to find out what will help to confirm your preferential status, and how to correctly draw up a certificate from a non-resident of Georgia to avoid double taxation.

What is Double Taxation Avoidance Agreement

The main purpose of the double taxation treaty is to control tax evasion and to promote trade cooperation between countries, as well as to stimulate foreign investment. The standard agreement concluded by Georgia with friendly countries is based on the model agreement of the OECD tax convention, according to which tax rights are distributed among partners depending on the agreed conditions. Namely, a resident of one country receiving income from another country may be taxed both in the state of the source of income and in the country of residence. In order to avoid double taxation, income received by a resident of one country from another country will be credited to the tax account of the source state. The Double Taxation Treaty also regulates issues related to the prevention of tax evasion and the means of applying internationally recognized standards for the exchange of information for tax purposes.

Georgia has 57 double taxation treaties for 2021.

How to avoid tax problems during a transaction with foreign counterparties

When importing / receiving services from non-residents, there is a tax at the source. If Georgia has an agreement on the avoidance of double taxation with the country where the counterparty is registered, then this tax can be avoided. But the agreement avoids only the withholding tax. As for the reverse VAT that arises when purchasing services from a non-resident – with the help of this agreement, you will not be able to avoid paying.

What documents are the official confirmation of the possibility of avoiding double taxation

In order not to pay tax at the source, you need to submit twice to the Tax Certificate stating that the counterparty who provides the service is a tax resident of the country with which Georgia has an agreement. You can find out the entire list of countries by clicking on the link given above. This certificate is issued by various authorities in different countries, in Georgia, it is the Revenue Service.

Certificate form to avoid double taxation

Practically all over the world, a unified form of the certificate has been adopted in order to avoid double taxation, the so-called “Certificate of Residence”. It is filled indifferently, but the essence is the same. It indicates that an individual or legal entity is tax residents of a particular country. The certificate is valid for 1 calendar year.

How to prove the authenticity of the certificate for the state

It is mandatory that a certificate of tax residency, which avoids double taxation, is legalized in some countries, and in some, it is apostilled. There are countries that have signed a special agreement for the CIS, according to which documents are accepted without legalization and apostille. These include all CIS countries, except for the Baltic states.

Apostille is a state procedure for legalizing documents issued by anybody or certified by a notary, a special form adopted by the countries that signed the Hague Convention in 1961. This procedure is considered a more simplified document legalization system. The Hague International Convention abolishes the requirements for the legalization of foreign documents for the participating countries but requires a mandatory apostille.

The rest of the countries accept the document of another country only after legalization. Therefore, apostille or legalization depends only on the country of residence. Georgia is included in the list of countries that have signed the Hague Convention.

An official translation is required. In Georgia, the certificate must be submitted in the Georgian language, because the state authorities of the country do not accept documents in a foreign language. The translation must be notarized. The certificate may not be legalized and not apostilled (for example, issued by Ukraine, which does not require these procedures in Georgia), but the translation must be notarized and made by a certified translator.

We will give an example from the experience of our clients in order to clearly show the procedure for avoiding double taxation in Georgia:

Our client is a resident of Slovakia, but at the same time, he is the founder of a company in Georgia. When the founder distributes profits and receives dividends, he pays tax on dividends not in Georgia, but in Slovakia, where he is a tax resident. In Slovakia, the tax on dividends is 7%, in Georgia, it is 5%, so the beneficiary does not have any obligation to declare the difference in tax downward. Every year he provides a standard certificate of his tax residency, which will be translated into Georgian and notarized.

Important! Payments to non-residents are declared monthly in the income tax return. It is necessary to indicate that this person is a non-resident and is a resident of another country with which Georgia has an agreement on the avoidance of double taxation. But evidence of this (in the form of a certificate) is submitted only once a year – until April 1 of the year following the reporting year.

If you have any questions or need a certificate from a non-resident of Georgia to avoid double taxation, leave a request to get a free consultation.

    Convenient messenger

Никто не хочет платить большие налоги, а тем более дважды. Если вы нерезидент страны и получаете доход в Грузии, то может случится так, что вам нужно будет платить налоги и тут и в стране резиденства. Чтобы этого не происходило существует соглашение между странами направленное на избежание двойного налогообложения. У Грузии соответствующие международные договоры заключены более чем с 50 государствами.  Что поможет подтвердить ваш льготный статус, и как правильно оформляется справка от нерезидента Грузии для избежания двойного налогообложения, читайте в этой статье.

Что такое соглашение об избежании двойного налогообложения

Основная цель договора об избежании двойного налогообложения заключается в контроле над уклонением от налогов и в содействии торговому сотрудничеству между странами, а также в стимулировании иностранных инвестиций. Стандартный договор, заключенный Грузией с дружественными странами, берет за основу типовой договор налоговой конвенции ОЭСР, согласно которому налоговые права распределяются между партнерами в зависимости от оговоренных условий. А именно, резидент одной страны, получающий доход от другой стране, может облагаться налогом как в государстве источника дохода, так и в стране проживания. Во избежание двойного налогообложения, доход, полученный резидентом одной страны от другой страны, будет зачислен на счет налога в государстве-источнике. Договор об избежании двойного налогообложения также регулирует вопросы, касающиеся предотвращения уклонения от налогов и средств применения международно признанных стандартов обмена информацией для целей налогообложения.

У Грузии на 2021 год заключено 57 договоров об избежании двойного налогообложения.

Как избежать проблем с налогами во время сделки с иностранными контрагентами

При импорте\получение услуг от нерезидентов возникает налог у источника. В случае если со страной, где зарегистрирован контрагент, у Грузии есть соглашение об избежании двойного налогообложения, то можно избежать уплаты этого налога. Но соглашение позволяет избежать только налог у источника. Что касается обратного НДС, который возникает при закупке услуг от нерезидента — с помощью этого соглашения вам не удастся избежать уплаты.

Какие документы являются официальным подтверждением возможности избежания двойного налогообложения

Для того чтобы не платить налог у источника дважды нужно предоставить в Налоговую справку о том, что контрагент, который оказывает услугу является налоговым резидентом страны с которой у Грузии имеется договор. Весь список стран вы можете узнать перейдя по ссылке приведенной выше. Данная справка в разных странах выдается различными органами, в Грузии — это Служба доходов.

Форма справки во избежание двойного налогообложения

Практически во всем мире принята единая форма справки во избежание двойного налогообложения, так называемая “Справка о резидентстве”. Заполняется по-разному, но суть одна. В ней указывается, что физическое лицо или юридическое лицо являются налоговыми резидентами той или иной страны. Срок действия справки — 1 календарный год

Как доказать подлинность справки для государства

В обязательном порядке справка о налоговом резидентстве, которая позволяет избежать двойного налогообложения, в некоторых странах легализуется, а в некоторых апостилируется. Есть страны, которые подписали специальное соглашение для СНГ по которому принимают документы без легализации и апостиля. К ним относятся все страны СНГ, кроме Прибалтики.

Апостиль — это государственная процедура узаконивания документов выданных любым органом или заверенных нотариально, специальная форма, которую приняли страны подписавшие Гаагскую конвенцию в 1961 года. Данная процедура считается более упрощенной системой легализацией документов. Гаагская международная конвенция отменяет требования к легализации иностранных документов для стран участниц, но требует обязательную апостиляцию.

Остальные страны принимают документ другой страны только после легализации. Поэтому апостилировать или легализовать зависит только от страны резидентства. Грузия входит в список стран подписавших Гаагскую конвенцию.

Официальный перевод является обязательным требованием. В Грузии справка должна быть представлена на грузинском языке, потому что государственные органы страны не принимают документы на иностранном языке. Перевод должен быть нотариально заверен. Справка может быть не легализована и не апостилирована (например, выдана Украиной, которой не требуется эти процедуры в Грузии), но перевод должен быть нотариально заверен и сделан дипломированным переводчиком.

Приведем пример из практики на опыте наших клиентов, чтобы наглядно показать процедуру избежания двойного налогообложения в Грузии:

Наш клиент является резидентом Словакии, но при этом он учредитель компании в Грузии. Когда учредитель распределяет прибыль и получает дивиденды, то с дивидендов он платит налог не в Грузии, а в Словакии, где он является налоговым резидентом. В Словакии налог на дивиденды 7%, в Грузии 5%, таким образом у бенефициара не возникает каких-либо обязанностей задекларировать разницу в налоге в меньшую сторону. Ежегодно он предоставляет стандартную справку о своем налоговом резидентстве, которая будет переведена на грузинский язык и нотариально заверена.

Важно! Выплаты нерезидентам ежемесячно декларируется в подоходной декларации. Нужно указать, что это лицо нерезидент и является резидентом другой страны с которой у Грузии есть соглашение об избежание двойного налогообложения. Но доказательства этого (в виде справки) подается лишь раз в год — до 1 апреля года следующего за отчетным.

Если у вас остались вопросы или вам нужна справка от нерезидента Грузии для избежания двойного налогообложения оставьте заявку, чтобы получить бесплатную консультацию.

Автор: Анна Метревели, руководитель отдела по работе с клиентами

    Удобный мессенджер